Manuel Bieh

Freelance Developer.
React. JavaScript. Node.js

Technologies

In the past 15 years I was working as Developer there was barely any web technology I had not at least marginally used at some point. I laid the foundation of my professional career doing HTML (optimized for IE5 and Netscape 4.7 at that time), a bit later I also started using CSS (which indeed was not available at the time I began using HTML).

In 1998, at the tender age of 14, I used my pocket money to buy my first book about JavaScript and, well, I'm still using it today! (The language of course, not the book! ;))

Between 2004 and 2008 I had the desire to make some new experiences and broaden my knowledge and so I switchted to mostly doing PHP- and MySQL backend development during that time. With the rise of HTML 5 early 2009 I then switched back to doing frontend development with HTML, CSS and JavaScript almost exclusively.

As time flew by the share of JavaScript in my daily work grew continuously, in 2011 I also started doing some smaller Node.js projects, later I did some more and bigger Node.js projects and in the meantime I have also published some own Node modules on npm and so I'd now consider myself more of a JavaScript Developer than a Frontend Developer (though I still have some decent HTML and CSS skills ;)).

I always try to use the right tool for the problems I have to solve instead of using the same toolset over and over again for each and every project no matter what the requirements are. These circumstances allowed me to grow a broad knowledge about many different technologies in the web sphere and usually I don't need much time to familiarize with unknown technologies or projects.

I must admit, though, that I have recently developed a lot of affection towards React (+ Ecosystem), Webpack and Node.js and so I try to primarily acquire projects where the usage of React would be useful.

the logos reflect some of the technologies I've worked with in the past.

Manuel Bieh

Freelance Developer.
JavaScript. React. Node.js

Technologien

In den knapp 15 Jahren die ich bisher als Entwickler tätig war, gab es wahrscheinlich nur wenige Technologien mit denen ich nicht zumindest am Rande schon einmal zu tun hatte. Angefangen habe ich dabei mit reiner HTML-Entwicklung (damals wurde noch für den IE5 und Netscape 4.7 optimiert!), ein wenig später kam dann CSS hinzu (was es anfangs damals tatsächlich noch nicht gab).

In 1998, im zarten Alter von 14 Jahren, kaufte ich von meinem Taschengeld mein erstes Buch zum Thema JavaScript und bin der Sprache bis heute treu geblieben. Zwischen 2004 und 2008 benötigte ich dann mal etwas Abwechslung und so beschäftigte ich mich dort überwiegend mit Backend-Entwicklung mit PHP und MySQL ehe ich dank HTML 5 wieder fast ausschließlich zur Frontend-Entwicklung zurückkehrte.

2009 entschied ich mich also dafür, mich wieder stärker auf meinen Ursprung zu besinnen und konzentrierte mich fortan wieder auf die Frontend-Entwicklung mit HTML, CSS und JavaScript. Der JavaScript-Anteil wurde mit der Zeit immer größer, 2011 kamen erste kleine Projekte mit Node.js dazu, im Laufe der Zeit kamen mehr Projekte mit Node.js hinzu und mittlerweile existieren auch einige Packages von mir in npm.

Ich bemühe mich stets die richtigen Tools für die zu lösenden Aufgaben zu verwenden statt wie manch anderer die immer gleichen Tools für sämtliche Art von Problemen zu nutzen. Dadurch habe ich mir im Laufe der Zeit ein ziemlich breites Wissen in ganz unterschiedlichen Technologien angeeignet und arbeite mich für gewöhnlich auch schnell in neue Technologien ein.

Aktuell muss ich zugeben, habe ich eine starke Zuneigung für React (+ Ecosystem), Webpack und Node.js entwickelt und bemühe mich in der Projekt-Akquise primär um solche Projekte, in denen der Einsatz von React sinnvoll ist.

Die Logos spiegeln einige der Technologien wider mit denen ich in der Vergangenheit gearbeitet habe.